Previous Winners, Seeking Repeat - Butterfly Table Tennis
Site Products
Previous Winners, Seeking Repeat: Liu Shiwen – Photo By: Rémy Gros

Previous Winners, Seeking Repeat of Earlier Fortunes

Previous Winners, Seeking Repeat of Earlier Fortunes
2016 ITTF World Tour Qatar Open
Courtesy of ITTF

Selected by head coach, Kong Linghui, for the final of the Women’s event at the recent Perfect 2016 World Team Championships in Kuala Lumpur, the names of Liu Shiwen and Ding Ning both appear on the entry list for the forthcoming 2016 ITTF World Tour Qatar Open.

Proceedings commence in Doha on Wednesday March 23rd.

Gold and Silver Medalists
Notably of the players competing in this year’s event, they are amongst the most successful in the history of the tournament; both have experienced the satisfaction of being the winner of the Women’s Singles event and the disappointment of being the runner up.

Always either the pain or the pleasure has been gained or suffered at the hands of a colleague.

In 2011 Liu Shiwen beat Ding Ning in the title deciding contest, having the previous year experienced defeat at the same stage when opposing Guo Yue.

Defeat for Ding Ning but that record was put straight in 2013 when she reversed the decision of two years earlier. She beat Liu Shiwen to secure the title.

One Exception
Notably, with just one exception, Liu Shiwen and Ding Ning are the only players on duty this year to have reached the ITTF World Tour Qatar Open Women’s Singles final; the exception is one year ago when Romania’s Elizabeta Samara beat Germany’s Han Ying to arrest the title.

Now in 2016, Elizabeta Samara faces a prodigious task if she is retain the prestigious crown; the only player ever to achieve the feat is Zhang Yining, in the eyes of many the greatest female player of all time; she won in 2008 and 2009. In the former year she beat Guo Yan in the final, in the latter Guo Yue.

Such is the high quality of the entry in 2016 that Elizabeta Samara, the player who last October was crowned European champion, is not named amongst the 16 seeds!

Champions Not Seeded
Equally there are other illustrious names who have won ITTF World Tour Women’s Singles titles and must compete in the qualification stage of proceedings.

Hong Kong’s Jiang Huajun must start at the very beginning. Likewise, Japan’s Yuka Ishigaki and Miyu Maeda must play in the preliminary stage as must Hungary’s Georgina Pota and Szandra Pergel. Also, faced with the same situation are Poland’s Li Qian, Russia’s Polina Mikhailova, Portugal’s Shao Jieni and Monaco’s Yang Xiaoxin.

A daunting task ahead for the defending champion, it is the same for Han Ying, the runner up one year ago and for Singapore’s Feng Tianwei, last year’s a beaten semi-finalists.

Feng Tianwei is the no.6 seed, followed immediately by Han Ying; Japan’s Mima Ito is next in line with the Korea pairing of Seo Hyowon and Jeon Jihee completing the top 10 names.

Top of List
Meanwhile, as per the current Women’s World Ranking, Liu Shiwen heads the list pursued by colleagues Ding Ning and Zhu Yuling.

Japan’s Ai Fukuhara and Kasumi Ishikawa are the respective no.4 and no.5 seeds.

One Pairing
Four previous winners on duty in the Women’s Singles event but in the Women’s Doubles competition there is only one pairing in action, who have in the past, secured the title in unison.

Ding Ning and Liu Shiwen, the top seeds won in 2010.

Previous Champions
Meanwhile, Tie Yana and Jiang Huajun who won the Women’s Doubles event last year appear on the entry list but not together; this year Tie Yana partners Doo Hoi Kem and occupies the no.2 seeded spot, Jiang Huajun joins forces with Lee Ho Ching and reserves the no.3 seeded position.

Feng Tianwei and Zhu Yihan complete the names of the top four seeds.

Bernadette Szocs Defends Title
Prior champions; in the Under 21 Women’s Singles event there is just one previous winner in action.

Similar to her compatriot Elizabeta Samara in the Women’s Singles competition, Bernadette Szocs defends her title. She is the no.9 seed in an event that sees the top five names all from Japan.

Miu Hirano is the top seed, followed by compatriot, Hitomi Sato; Yui Hamamoto and Miu Kato. Hina Hayata, the recent winner in Kuwait is the no.5 seed.

Final Entries: Men, Women

Full Schedule: Matches of Day 1

Latest News


September 27, 2022
(By: ITTF Foundation) Table tennis fans from around the world can bid to own the exclusive Dang Qiu… Read More

Butterfly San Antonio Fall Open Results And Tournament Report

September 27, 2022
(By: Vlad Farcas) On September 10th the 2022 BUTTERFLY San Antonio Fall Open, a 2-star USATT Sanctioned took… Read More

Tashiya Piyadasa Won The ITTF Americas Hope Continental Challenge 2022

September 27, 2022
(By: Bowmar Sports Team) The ITTF Americas Hope Continental come with an amazing victory to USA by Tashiya… Read More

Coaching Tips of the Week: The Quick Chip Receive

September 26, 2022
(By Larry Hodges) Often an opponent serves short backspin or no-spin serves to the middle or backhand, and… Read More

WAB Club Feature: Song Jeho Table Tennis Club

September 25, 2022
(by Steve Hopkins) The Song Jeho Table Tennis Club (“SJHTTC”) is centrally located in Los Angeles.  The club is… Read More

Triangle’s 2022 Butterfly September Tournament

September 25, 2022
(by Steve Hopkins) Triangle Badminton and Table Tennis Club hosted their Butterfly September open last weekend.  There were… Read More

Pan Am U11 & U13 Results: Team USA’s Strong Results in Santo Domingo

September 25, 2022
(by Steve Hopkins, photo USATT) The 2022 ITTF Pan American U11 and U13 Championships were held this week… Read More

Butterfly Training Tips with Yu Di – The Forehand Smash

September 23, 2022
(By: Bowmar Sports Team) In this Butterfly Training Tips, Yu Di is working with Risheetha Bhagawatulaa on the… Read More
View All News

Get the latest from Butterfly

Stay “In The Loop” with Butterfly professional table tennis equipment, table tennis news, table tennis technology, tournament results, and We Are Butterfly players, coaches, clubs and more.