Bundesliga Finals: Saarbrucken Wins Season After Restart
Site Products
Bundesliga Finals: Saarbrucken Wins Season After Restart

Bundesliga Finals: Saarbrucken Wins Season After Restart

(by Steve Hopkins)

Like all sporting events, the German professional league, the Liebherr TTBL, was cut short by the Coronavirus Pandemic.  Now that play in Germany has resumed, and after the Dusseldorf Masters warm-up events, the final four teams met this week to complete the 2019/20 season with the Semifinal matches occurring earlier in the week and with the Finals held on Sunday.

One Semifinal matched perennial favorite Borussia Dusseldorf against TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen, the 2018/19 season champion.  The other Semifinal matched FC Saarbrucken, the third seed, against SV Werder Bremen, the second seed.

A lot of big names were present with Timo Boll and Kristian Karlsson anchoring Borussia Dusseldorf, and Hugo Calderano and Simon Gauzy leading the way for Ochsenhausen.  Saarbrucken featured Patrick Franziska and Bremen’s well-known player is Mattias Falck.

Borussia Dusseldorf started strong with Boll winning over Ochsenhausen’s Gauzy 3-0 and then extended their lead when Karlsson upset Hugo Calderano 3-1.  But it was all TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen from that point forward logging three consecutive wins for the victory.  Jakum Dyjas defeated Anton Kallberg 3-2, Calderano defeated Boll 3-2, and Simon Gauzy defeated Kristian Karlsson 3-0 to seal the ticket to the Final.

In the other bracket, FC Saarbrucken TT cruised winning three straight.  Shang Kun over Kirill Gerassimenko (3-1), Patrick Franziska over Mattias Falck (3-0), and Darko Jorgic over Marcelo Aguirre (3-1) to seal the win.

This set up a Final between three pretty well known Ochsenhausen players, Calderano/Gauzy/Dyjas, and the lesser known FC Saarbrucken TT players, Franziska/Kun/Jorgic.  The only high point in the Final for Ochsenhausen was a Jakum Dyjas win.  When Dyjas and Jorgic began, Saarbrucken was already leading 2-0 in matches.  Each of the first three games between the players was decided by 2 points with Dyjas leading 2-1. Jorgic then started the fourth game with three straight points, only to see Dyjas run off eleven straight to score a win for Ochsenhausen.  All of the other highlights belong to the new Champions, FC Saarbrucken.  Saarbrucken’s Patrick Franziska started things off with a very tight 3-2 upset win over Hugo Calderano.  Saarbrucken’s Shang Kun then scored an upset win over Simon Gauzy 3-1.  Dyjas then logged the lone win for Ochsenhausen.  And to seal the victory, Saarbrucken’s Shang Kun dominated Hugo Calderano for a 3-0 win.

This signals a close to the 2019/20 year – just as the new year is set to begin.  From this point forward, there are new rosters for many of these teams.  Many American fans will be following Ochsenhausen this year as USA’s Kanak Jha will be joining TTF Liebherr Ochsenhausen.  Jha is replacing Jakub Dyjas. The team should be among the favorites in the upcoming season.


Latest News

WAB CLUB FEATURE: Folsom Table Tennis Club

August 7, 2022
By Steve Hopkins) The Folsom Table Tennis Club has two locations in Folsom, California to the Northeast of Sacramento. … Read More

Puerto Rico Dominates In Youth Panamericans Table Tennis Championships

August 7, 2022
(By: Edgardo Vazquez) Our National Puertoricans Youth Men’s team won the gold medal in the Team event of… Read More

ITTF Pan Am Youth U19: Perfect Performances for USA’s Sally Moyland and PR’s Angel Naranjo

August 7, 2022
(by Steve Hopkins) Sally Moyland capped off an amazing week at the 2022 ITTF Pan American Youth Championships… Read More

Classic Hardbat World Championships: Over 60

August 7, 2022
Over 60 at the Classic Hardbat World Championships: Randy Hou and Other Pips-Out Penholders Dominate By Larry Hodges… Read More

The Hardbat Rivalry – Jimmy Butler and A.J. Carney

August 7, 2022
(By Larry Hodges) On July 7, 2018, the two titans of US Hardbat finally met for the first… Read More

Classic Hardbat World Championships: The Dream Team Wins Again

August 7, 2022
Open Teams at the Classic Hardbat World Championships: The Dream Team Wins Again By Larry Hodges The Dream… Read More

ITTF Pan Am Youth U19: TeamUSA Girls Win Teams, Puerto Rico Boys Win

August 7, 2022
(by Steve Hopkins) Rosario, Argentina is host this week to the 2022 ITTF Pan American Youth Championships (U19). … Read More

Classic Hardbat World Championships: Women’s Singles

August 6, 2022
Women’s Singles at the Classic Hardbat World Championships: Xin Li Dominates with the Backhand By Larry Hodges (photo… Read More
View All News

Get the latest from Butterfly

Stay “In The Loop” with Butterfly professional table tennis equipment, table tennis news, table tennis technology, tournament results, and We Are Butterfly players, coaches, clubs and more.