Two most recent men’s Champions will play in Group B in Luxembourg


The Draw of the LIEBHERR 2017 ITTF European Table Tennis Championships

Austria (2015 champion) and Portugal (2014 winner) will share Men’s Group B in the LIEBHERR 2017 ITTF European Table Tennis Championships. That was the outcome of the Draw held today in Luxembourg, host country of the event scheduled for September 13th to 17th. Luxembourg’s top women’s player NI Xia Lian carried out the gripping draw of the teams for the Championship, the Challenge and Standard Divisions.

The „referee“ of the Team Event, Stuart SHERLOCK (ENG), was in charge of the draw in Luxembourg-Kirchberg; he was assisted by the Belgian ETTU Competition Manager Didier LEROY, the Norwegian President of the ETTU Technical Committee, Oivind ERIKSEN, and Event Manager Jean-Marie LINSTER from Luxembourg.

Regarding Draw for the Men’s event, reigning champion Austria will face 2014 winner Portugal, Slovenia and Slovakia. Six times consecutive champion Germany, actual runner-up, will play in Group A beside 2015 bronze medalist Belarus, Croatia and Spain.

The German ladies, title-holders since the previous event, will meet Hungary, Sweden and Croatia in a group. NI Xia Lian, the present number 57 in the world ranking, was not lucky in the draw for her team. The hosts will face Romania, the Czech Republic and the Netherlands. Luxembourg men’s team, seeded in the Championship Division will compete against Sweden, Greece and Russia.

For full article, please click here